The episode of the "Behind the Bastards" podcast about George Shea originally recorded in February 2022 has been uploaded to youtube.
47 Comments »
RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI
|
F
EAT
S
EatFeats
- competitive eating
news,
database &
calendar
|
RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI
anonymous said
February 28, 2026 @ 2:52 am
A very weak and boring attempt to describe George Shea She comes off as naive and sounds like shes reading from a script Shes not telling us anything we dont already know about Shea and his corrupt organization
Dick Shea is bald said
February 28, 2026 @ 9:01 am
Rich Shea wears a very noticeable yet expensive twopay
anonymous said
February 28, 2026 @ 6:04 pm
is it just me or does anyone else think that geotge shea makes a total ass of himself rapping on stage with booker or by himself
anonymous said
March 1, 2026 @ 10:56 am
i think you are correct dick shea wears a twopay
Anonymous said
March 11, 2026 @ 6:52 pm
Wanna hear a rhyme? Rich Shea wears a toupee
Anonymous said
March 12, 2026 @ 7:24 am
Oh without question dick shea wears a toupee On the topic of toupee Dave Goldstein and Don Moses lerman looked like someone took a paintbrush and painted the top of their heads black but I think that’s their real hair but a poor job of maintaining it Ed Cookie Jarvis accused this Seiken guy of wearing a toupee years ago soon after he deposited it in the garbage can On rare occasions that Jarvis isn’t wearing a bandanna he looks like his hair is not his However it’s been confirmed it’s his real hair but the black color he uses to dye his gray hair gives the impression that he wears a toupee Bottom line is anyone who sports a toupee is a sad sack of shit and has major insecurity issues
anonymous said
March 12, 2026 @ 12:30 pm
If anyone can use a toupee it’s nick whenry that hair gotta go
Anonymous said
March 12, 2026 @ 2:19 pm
Lerman and Goldstein hair look similar more like a black nylon stocking cap
Anonymous said
March 12, 2026 @ 4:56 pm
If you check out dick commentary on espn Nathan’s finale his hair looks fake
Anonymous said
March 13, 2026 @ 9:26 am
As a former client of hair club for men I can tell you for a fact that their toupees stink Total waste of money They look somewhat undetectable for a few days but after that you’ll have people staring at the top of your farhead realizing the hair is fake The owner Sy Sperling died a few yrs ago I wonder if he was buried with his toupee on
anonymous said
March 13, 2026 @ 5:28 pm
i think esper wears a toupee have yet to see him without the baseball cap
old yiddish man said
March 14, 2026 @ 9:28 am
ooy vay ooy vay so vats the sin if a boy vants to vere a toupee its der head they can do vat day vant As dey say in yiddush dont hok me a chinek
Anonymous said
March 14, 2026 @ 10:02 am
I was not aware a head of luxurious hair was required for this sport. lol
Anonymous said
March 14, 2026 @ 9:12 pm
Getting ridiculous toupee or not toupee that is the question
anonymous said
March 15, 2026 @ 8:27 am
LOL good one 202
anonymous said
March 15, 2026 @ 8:28 am
i meant 10:02
anonymous said
March 15, 2026 @ 9:23 am
Sheas never enjoyed prosperity With the exception of ESPN and the Nathans contest which was a goldmine , they always managed to screw things up with other sponsors Before ESPN the nathans contest had very little exposure . C-span a local cable access network gave it some exposure in 2003 Before that the contest recieved minimal exposure with Daily news and NY post but that was it The alka seltzer US open of cometitive eating in 2005 an espn event turned out to be a bust and was never renewed Take for example the Bens matzah ball contest The Sheas took over that event in 2002 George Sheas was able to convince the owner of Bens Deli Ronnie Dragoon a humble guy to run the contest as an ifoce event with ifoce members only with the exception of a few unknowns The qualifiers were held in LI and NYC Arnie Chapman and Joe Menchetti who competed in some ifoce events won their qualifiers but did not sign an ifoce contact both were banned from the finals in 2004. Booker was the reigning champ in 2003 and went on to win in 2004 Prior to the 2004 contest Chapman burst into the deli like a maniac with a ski hat urging the contestants in the event not to sign the ifoce contact and join his new eating organization He called Shea a slavemaster and a fraud to his face and told Booker slavery is over When cooler heads prevailed the owner took Chapman to the side to calm him down He might have offered him some cash or free matah ball coupons who knows but he left peacefully . Ronnie discontinued the event the following year didnt need the drama The Sheas also gained control of wingbowl 2004-2008 In 2005 Chapman and Menchetti qualified for Wingbowl but Shea convinced the founder of the event and WIP radio host Angelo Cataldi to ban the both of them because they were non ifoce members By 2009 Cataldi had just about enough of ifoce rules and regulations and allowed independent eaters in the contest As far as media events for the sport they failed with IND cable eats of strength and SPIKE TV chowdown which fell by the waistside as far as ratings
Anonymous said
March 15, 2026 @ 10:22 am
Toupee or not toupee… that is the question.
ojrifkin said (Registered July 27, 2005)
March 16, 2026 @ 7:21 am
The Wing Bowl had to pay a $4000 FCC fine for locking out Chapman. As a radio station contest, it had to follow FCC rules.
https://news.radio-online.com/cgi-bin/rol.exe/headline_id=b11860
Anonymous said
March 16, 2026 @ 2:50 pm
OJ I attempted to qualify for win bowl that year was sitting right next to Angelo cataldi when he got phone call to ban Chapman from wingbowl Cataldi was like this shit is getting ridiculous I’m tired of dealing with it Obvious George was responsible as revenge for Chapman tirade at Ben’s deli Not a Chapman fan by any stretch a clown and maniac but banning him from the contest was not right
anonymous said
March 16, 2026 @ 4:51 pm
wish there was a video of chapman bursting into the deli If YT was around back then. An easy viral. eatfeats woulld have covered it but eatfeats wasnt around until a year later
anonymous said
March 16, 2026 @ 5:54 pm
Telling you the sheas can be very vindictive if you mess with them chapman should have sued the sheas they were directly responsible
Anonymous said
March 17, 2026 @ 9:02 am
One thing I have really wanted to know is if there is any “punishment” if lower tier MLE eaters are found competing in non MLE eating contests. Maybe they just bar them from future events since they aren’t making any money for them? My theory is they probably don’t follow such things to really give a crap unless you are in the top 20 or so.
That’s a big reason why I haven’t cared to do anything with them. Most of us would not see a nickel in their contests and would find ourselves in violation of a contract if we wanted to win a few hundred in a contest locally.
anonymous said
March 17, 2026 @ 12:38 pm
From what i remember there were other contestants in the matzah ball and wingbowl contests that competed in those events and were not ifoce members Chapman and menchetti were banned for separate reasons Chapman was an average eater but he was on the radar with george because he threw that tantrum in the deli that along with not signing the contract Menchetti was high profile but was on sheas shitlist because he refused to sign contact stephanie torres was another one on the radar she was a signed eater competed in a non ifoce event she was either banned from the organization because they caught her or she told them she will compete wherever she pleases If i was a betting man if you were a lower tier eater now adays they could care less if you competed in non ifoce contests You are a smart man you prob wouldnt see a dime competing in their events
Anonymous said
March 17, 2026 @ 2:41 pm
Also – The shrinking number of MLE events has been very noticeable.
Anonymous said
March 17, 2026 @ 5:21 pm
The only ranked major league eater who does challenges is esper but he does it from home
anonymous said
March 17, 2026 @ 8:52 pm
923 your wrong gutbusters 1 with lazy Kevin don lerman snd ed Jarvis the three amigos traveling by car to try and qualify for nationals was very entertaining forgot what network aired it The sequel gutbusters 2 stunk
ojrifkin said (Registered July 27, 2005)
March 18, 2026 @ 7:28 am
James Webb and Derek Hendrickson do restaurant challenges.
anonymous said
March 18, 2026 @ 8:01 am
That just proves times have changed gone are the days when sheas usued to have the stranglehold on eaters
Anonymous said
March 18, 2026 @ 9:01 am
tons of ranked mle eaters do challenges. James Webb, Max Sanford, Derek Hendrickson, Radim, George Chiger, Jerome Burns, Badlands does his chug videos. You could throw Cherish Brown on there too but she hasnt posted a challenge in a while
anonymous said
March 18, 2026 @ 10:04 am
ok thanks
anonymous said
March 23, 2026 @ 4:45 pm
Sam Barklay is worse than the Sheas although all 3 are sneaky Prior to the foxwood turkey contest in 2015 a so called bf of a screwball female eater threaten to kick my ass if i showed at the contest I told him make your move He never showed and i put in a complaint to the sponsor I get an email from Barklay ‘Ill say this once dont ever contact our sponsors ” When i tried to explain my self he repeated the same response If you try to contact their sponsors with a complaint they go completely ballistic They never held that contest again Ha!
anonymous said
March 23, 2026 @ 8:34 pm
good one paybacks a bitch
anonymous said
March 24, 2026 @ 8:28 am
in that 2015 turkey contest sonya thomas finished 9th on the downside of her career losing to fu wong chow aka sudo who won the event with 8lbs From 2014-2018 Sonya lost to her 5 consecutive times in the Nathans finals In 2018 her career ended on a sad note with a dq for reversing in 2018 finals She never competed again She could never shake off sudo Reminded me of Ali getting beaten to a pulp by Larry Holmes in his last fight in 1980
ojrifkin said (Registered July 27, 2005)
March 24, 2026 @ 9:10 am
Whatever happened with Sonya Thomas, it is not a great advertisement for competitive eating that she wants nothing to do with it.
Anonymous said
March 24, 2026 @ 10:25 am
Her website is no longer there replaced by maj jong website She wanted to open a Burger King restaurant Just disappeared off the face of the earth
Anonymous said
March 24, 2026 @ 1:22 pm
If sudo wasn’t around Sonya would have won all those Nathan’s finals 2014 to 18 I wish she would make a comeback Second place at best At her peak she was unbeatable
Anonymous said
March 24, 2026 @ 1:52 pm
Guess she left on good terms since mle still uses her images on their site.
Anonymous said
March 24, 2026 @ 2:02 pm
The same thing would happen to Sudo if Schuyler was MLE.
anonymous said
March 24, 2026 @ 2:56 pm
i really wish schuyler would sign the contract so she could get into nathans its only for a year or two sudo aka fung wu chow would pack it in
anonymous said
March 24, 2026 @ 2:57 pm
MLE will never take her images down
Anonymous said
March 24, 2026 @ 9:40 pm
Fung wu chow? Is that just some idiotic racist comment?
Anonymous said
March 24, 2026 @ 10:26 pm
To clarify 445 comment regarding the screwball female eater her name was Danielle was either schizophrenic or split personality obviously had issues There was a cannoli contest in 2014 in Brooklyn Badlands booker won the event Danielle ate 10 her dad also competed and finished 4th with 16! After the contest she broke into tears and cried to George shea complaining that her father cheated Unbelievable but true Her bf never threatened anyone’ she took over his identity The results are on major league eating website
Anonymous said
March 25, 2026 @ 8:18 am
Its obvious that 940 pm is sudo or her husband
anonymous said
March 25, 2026 @ 4:20 pm
danielle was actually a decent eater if you look at her stat sheet 35 twinkies 17 hot dogs was a nathans finalist i think she got kicked out for winning a non ifoce event meatball contest
Anonymous said
March 25, 2026 @ 9:19 pm
To me the mle stipulation of no outside contests is like if walmart fired employees for having a garage sale. lol
Anonymous said
March 26, 2026 @ 8:57 pm
We need to know what happened to Butiful Brain Siken. He was so detrimental to the sport as well as a shining light with his interviews and insight. Please give us an update. Has he escaped the slum living with roaches yet? Any friends?