Michelle "Cardboard Shell" Lesco will attempt to break the MLE losing streak in tomorrow's oyster eating contest in Hillsborough, Northern Ireland.


  1. FBTSPod said (Registered August 20, 2014)

    September 4, 2015 @ 2:52 pm

    Woooo!!! Good luck Shelly!

  2. MyNameIsAnonymous said

    September 4, 2015 @ 8:20 pm

    Shirlow had 233 in 2005 (previous record 187). http://www.highbeam.com/doc/1G1-136023713.html

    He had 201 in 2006. http://photosales.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/media/9_QA-2HMSpRdBAkQ13y56Q..a

    No info was found for 2007, except the rules: http://www.ceilicottage.com/doc/WOEC%20Rules%202007.doc

    He had 232 in 2008 when Thomas had 190-odd. http://forked.ie/2010/09/take-on-the-king-of-the-oyster/

    He had 190-odd in 2009 when he heaved and had to re-eat the first load. [same link]
    Youtube video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tk2uwO2gN9g

    For 2010, one link was found, claiming that Ramage was “elected” as the winner (maybe a prelim round? though the big trophy in picture #13 makes this seem legit) http://www.demotix.com/news/429199/2010-world-oyster-eating-champion-elected

    Shirlow had 198 in 2011. http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/guzzling-198-oysters-in-three-minutes-gives-me-flashbacks-admits-festival-winner-28653907.html

    From 2012-14 it is in the database.

  3. anonymous said

    September 4, 2015 @ 8:34 pm

    You must have no life whatsoever if you have all this time on your hands to post oyster links in northern Ireland from 10 yrs ago

  4. anonymous said

    September 4, 2015 @ 9:19 pm

    Thanks for doing all this research MyNameIsAnonymous! I will check each link out.

  5. MyNameIsAnonymous said

    September 4, 2015 @ 10:15 pm

    Here’s the piece about the 2003 win by Rune Naeri, who increased the record from 97 to 187.


    And the 2004 note about Tiesteel over Naeri 171-163.


  6. MyNameIsAnonymous said

    September 5, 2015 @ 2:18 am

    I now have independent confirmation (in addition to previous clear photographic evidence) that Ramage won in 2010, with 161.


    My guess is that Shirlow did not compete that year (illness?), so they still call him an “undefeated” champion.

    Stonie’s 2013 video called him a 7-time champion coming in (so 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012), and a 2014 preview called him an 8-time winner, even though after the event Shirlow himself referred to this being his 10th win (maybe with some prodding from MLE hype machine?).

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

Log in | Register | Comments by users who have not logged in will be held for approval