Rankings category

Webb, Bertoletti, Corbucci enter MLE top 50

The MLE top 50 has been updated for the first time in about a year. The new top 12:

1. Joey Chestnut
2. Geoff Esper
3. Miki Sudo
4. Nick Wehry
5. Matt Stonie
6. Darron Breeden
7. Gideon Oji
8. Max Suzuki
9. Michelle Lesco
10. James Webb
11. Pat Bertoletti
12. Ricardo Corbucci

James Webb, Pat Bertoletti and Ricardo Corbucci are the only new entrants, replacing Juan Neave, Gordon Hazzard and Rich LeFevre. I think Australian James Webb is the first non-American or Japanese to make the top 10. Katina DeJarnett and Ryan “Max Carnage” Rodacker are surprising omissions.

Comments (24)

2021 was the first year there were no updates to the MLE top 50, which was last changed in October 2020. Ricardo Corbucci is the only obvious new entrant if the rankings are modified.
A 4chan thread asks commenters to post their favorite competitive eater. Responses include Randy Santel, Beard Meats Food and Raina Huang.
Food Insider has produced a video listing the most iconic restaurant in each state. Several of the selections have been involved with restaurant challenges and eating contests including St. Elmo's Steak House (Indiana), Stella's (Nebraska), Voodoo Doughnuts (Oregon) and Ben's Chili Bowl (Washington, DC).
Darron Breeden lists the five hardest restaurant food challenges he has attempted.

British Eating League awards

The British Eating League has started announcing its awards for 2020:
Best Australian Female Eater – Mimi Zhang
Best Turkish Male Eater – Yakup Balikci
Best Tiktok Eater – Raina Huang
Best Team Eaters – Nick Wehry and Miki Sudo

update December 22 awards
Best Australian male – Cal “Hulk Smash Food” Stubbs
Best Czech male – Radim Dvoracek
Best UK female – Leah Shutkever
Best Instgram eater – Jesse “Food Coma” Freeman

update December 23 awards
Facebook eater of the Year – Randy Santel
Best Online Team Eaters of the Year – Molly Schuyler & Dan Kennedy
Best UK Eater – Adam “Beard Meats Food” Moran
Best Youtube Eater – Matt Stonie
Hall of Fame – Randy Santel

Comments (11)

New MLE top 50 out, Steve Hammond in, Sonya Thomas out

The MLE top 50 was updated today for the first time since June 2019. The new top 10:
Read the rest of this entry »

Comments (11)

The British Eating League has announced it plans to start awards for competitive eating. The categories are: top UK male / female, top world male / female, best eating couple and best Youtube eater.
The League of Fire has started a worldwide ranking of spicy eating challengers placing Justin ‘The Thunder from Down Under’ Rummel at the top.
Michael Dietz announced that he has retired from competitive eating and will focus on slapfighting. He is the second currently ranked member of the MLE top 50 to announce his retirement after Ronnie Hartman.

Voting open for 2020 “Finkies”

Voting is now open for the 2020 “Finkies” competitive eating awards. The award ceremony will be video-based this year. A podcast about the awards. The categories and choices are:

Eater of the Year
Darron Breeden
Joey Chestnut
Geoff Esper
Joel Hansen
Miki Sudo

Badlands Booker
Crazy Legs Conti
Miki Sudo and Nick Wehry
Juan Rodriguez and Sarah Reinecke
Katie Prettyman

Muggle (non competitive eating award)
Michelle Lesco – Brain cancer awareness
Rene Rovtar – school superintendent
Yasir Salem – 50 marathons in 50 states
Ronnie Hartman – pro wrestling
Bartley Weaver – Tennessee Titans mascot


Possible 2020 MLE top 50 changes

Here are possible new entrants for the MLE top 50 when it is updated (last update was June 25)

Possible removals from the top 50

Comments (6)

1st MLE top 50 of 2019

The MLE top 50 was updated today for the first time in 2019. The new top 10:
Read the rest of this entry »

Comments (10)

Feedspot has compiled a list of 30 eating challenge youtube channels to follow in 2019.

2019 Finkies winners

Winners of the 2019 “Finkies” awards announced Saturday:

Contest Sponsor – Original Nathan’s
Rising Star – George Chiger
Media – Juan Rodriguez & Sarah Reinecke nude photos in Men’s Health
Breakout – Geoff Esper
Rivalry – Rene Rovtar vs Kay Rovtar

Comments (17)

4th “Finkies” Awards announced

The 4th annual Finkie’s competitive eating awards that will take place April 13 at Flannery’s Bar in Manhattan were announced on Tuesday night(podcast | videos). The categories and choices, which can be voted on online are:

Read the rest of this entry »

Comments (23)

1st MLE Top 50 of 2018 released

MLE has updated its top 50 for the first time in 2018. The new top 10:

1) Joey Chestnut
2) Carmen Cincotti
3) Geoffrey Esper
4) Matt Stonie
5) Darron Breeden
6) Gideon Oji
7) Miki Sudo
8) Adrian Morgan
9) Michelle Lesco
10) Max Suzuki

Read the rest of this entry »

Comments (38)

Possible updates to first 2018 MLE top 50

The MLE 50 top has yet to see a modification in 2018. Here are some possible changes when it is updated.

Possible New Entrants
George Chiger
Matt Hazzard
Katie Prettyman
Max Suzuki
Nick Wehry

Possible removals
Meredith Boxberger – retired
Nela Zisser – last MLE contest July 4, 2016
Scott Thomas – last contest Sep 17 2016
Micah “Wing Kong” Collins – last contest Oct 8 2016
Steven Schuster – last contest May 6 2017

Comments (5)

All Pro Eating has updated their top 20 list of independent eaters. Brandon "Da Disposal" Clark enters the roster at #7.

2018 Finkies awards winners

The Fink Beats the Stomach announced the winners of their “Finkies” awards for 2017, which were based on online polls:

Rookie of the Year: Rene Rovtar
Showman of the Year: Beard Meats Food
Male Competitive Eater of the Year: Joey Chestnut
Female Competitive Eater of the Year: Michelle “Cardboard Shell” Lesco
Emcee of the Year: Eric “Badlands” Booker

Darron Breeden did not agree with the Rookie of the Year choice. Molly Schuyler and Miki Sudo have yet to comment on the Female of the Year award.

Comments (7)

2018 Finkies Awards nominations

The Fink Beats the Stomach Podcast announces that they will hold their Finkies award ceremony at Flannery’s in Manhattan on January 13. The public can vote for the nominees who are: Read the rest of this entry »

Comments (12)

Listverse.com has a list of 10 Unappetizing Facts About Eating Contests.

MLE top 50 updated, Carmen Cincotti 2nd

The MLE top 50 has been updated. Here is the new top 10 (previous version in Google cache)
1) Joey Chestnut
2) Carmen Cincotti
3) Matt Stonie
4) Geoffrey Esper
5) Miki Sudo
6) Gideon Oji
7) Adrian Morgan
8) Darron Breeden (jumps from #17)
9) Michelle Lesco
10) Sonya Thomas

It appears the only new entrant was Jon Bello returning at #30, replacing Andrew Kossuth (former #49). (previous rankings in Google cache).

Comments (136)

1st big MLE rankings update of 2017

The first big update of the MLE top 50 for 2017 have been made
#17 Darron Breeden
#22 Derek Jacobs
#23 Juan Neave
#35 Pedram Esmaeelzadeh
#36 Sarah Reinecke
#49 Andrew Kossuth (suprising given that his last MLE contest was in 2015)

Out (cached results)
#25 BeeJay Alexander
#33 Larell Marie Mele
#44 Corey Fanguy
#46 Ben Do
#47 Ron Koch
#48 Lesley Ryder

Comments (38)

Next Page »